Do you want to be a squash or an oak?

The Mighty Oak Tree As I was reading this morning I came across something I want to share with you. If you are like me you sometimes feel stuck in one place spiritually. You long for growth, for the journey toward being more like Jesus to speed up. I often pray, “Lord, put me on the fast track.”

Miles J. Stanford, in his book The Green Letters shared an illustration that was given by Dr. A. H. Strong.  A student asked Strong, the president of his school, “whether he could not take a shorter course than the one prescribed. ‘Oh yes,’ replied the President, ‘but then it depends upon what you want to be. When God wants to make an oak, He takes a hundred years, but when He wants to make a squash, He takes six months.”’

Do you want to be strong, with deep roots that can withstand the winds and storms or do you want to be a squash, with a short shelf-life that turns to mush quickly under the heat? I choose to be an oak! So I am going to patiently wait on the Lord for growth. I am going to put myself in the places of growth. The places that water and fertilize my roots. I want to be the tallest, strongest oak tree in the forest. How about you?

Psalm 1 says that the blessed man’s delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night. He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season and its leaf does not wither; and in whatever he does, he prospers.”

Leave a Reply

